Business analytics programs to be proposed at Faculty Senate


Kennedy DeRaedt/Iowa State Daily

Jeffrey Zimmerman, Professor for the Dept. of Vet Diagnostic & Production Animal Med, casts his vote for the new Faculty Senate President-Elect. Carol Faber, Associate Professor of graphic design, won against Andrea Wheeler, Assistant Professor of architecture. Electing a new President-Elect was on the agenda for the Faculty Senate meeting on Jan. 22 in the Sun Room of the Memorial Union.

Kaitlyn Hood

New beginnings are central to the upcoming Faculty Senate meeting Tuesday in which the Senate will discuss new majors and minors, as well as council chair nominations for the upcoming academic year.

Proposed is a major and minor in business analytics, which according to the request, would provide “the opportunity for a Regent university to demonstrate need and demand” as well as offer a program that is unique to Iowa. 

Additionally, the minor would provide students with experience in technology and analysis that are commonly practiced and in high demand in the workforce, according to the program proposal.

The Senate will also vote on a name change to the information assurance major and minor. The vote for the name change comes from a need for a contemporary update to accurately reflect what the program is about.

Along with voting on the new major and minor changes, the Senate will vote on a master’s program in athletic training.

According to the request, “The recent accreditation requirement for a degree transition from a bachelor’s degree to a professional master’s degree is the driving force to seek this new degree. Interest from prospective students continues to be strong and supports the need to transition the ISU program to a professional master’s program.”

Lastly, the Senate will begin accepting nominations for council chairs for the upcoming academic year. 

The Senate will elect chairs for two councils: Faculty Development and Administrative Relations Council and Judiciary and Appeals Chair.

The council chairs will be elected at the Faculty Senate meeting on April 23, 2019.