Iowa State corn-breeding scholarship named in honor of alum

Tara Larson

Iowa State recently received a gift from Monsanto Company to establish a scholarship to honor alumnus Theodore “Ted” Crosbie for graduate students.

This scholarship, titled The Ted Crosbie Monsanto Graduate Scholarship in Corn Breeding, was announced on June 22. It was publicized at an event honoring Crosbie at the Monsanto Learning Center.

Eligible scholarship recipients will be pursuing a master’s degree or doctorate in the Iowa State agronomy department, according to an Iowa State news release. Eligible recipients must also have a focus on corn breeding, and preference will be given to Iowa resident applicants.

Crosbie led Monsanto’s global plant-breeding team for 16 years. Later in his career, he worked as vice president and executive leader of Monsanto Integrated Farming Systems. Crosbie was recognized as a Monsanto Distinguished Fellow of Science before retiring in 2014. He died in 2016.

Crosbie graduated from Iowa State with a bachelor’s degree in agricultural education in 1973, and continued his education by receiving master’s and doctorate degrees in plant breeding and cytogenetics, in 1976 and 1978.

He began working for Monsanto in 1996 after holding different corporate and academic positions, including working as a graduate faculty member in agronomy at Iowa State. He also served as president and CEO of ICI Seeds from 1990 to 1996.

Crosbie co-founded the Biosciences Alliance of Iowa and participated in different industry and economic development boards. He also served on the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences’ advisory council.

He was presented Iowa State University’s highest alumni honor — the Distinguished Alumni Award. Crosbie also was a past recipient of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences’ Floyd Andre Award.

Governor Branstad recognized Crosbie in 2013 with a lifetime achievement award from the Iowa Innovation Corp. for his efforts to support innovation and job creation. In 2005, Crosbie was named the chief technology officer for the state of Iowa.