Iowa State men finish 5th in Big 12 Indoor Championships


Senior Kevyn Hoyos and freshman Andrew Jordan run in the mens 5000-meter Feb 24 during the Big 12 Track and Field meet. Hoyos came in third with a time of 14:24.86 and Jordan came in fourth with a time of 14:25.63. 

Mike Burvee

The second day of the Big 12 track and field Championship resulted in the crowning of a champion after several final events. Many of the Iowa State men advanced past the preliminary rounds on Friday to compete in the finals.

The day got underway with the 60-meter hurdles which Logan Schneider and Elijah Young competed in. Schneider finished in fifth place with a time of 8.14 seconds while Young finished sixth with 8.22 seconds.

Next up was the mile run featuring Christian Delago. After competing in three events on Friday, including one final, Delago ran two events on Saturday as well. In the mile he finished with a time of 4:15.72 which placed him in fifth on the podium.

Three Cyclones took part in the next event, the 600-yard run. Derek Jones finished in seventh place with a time of 1:10.27 and Rohson Roomes finished in eighth place with a time of 1:10.59. The third Cyclone, Jaymes Dennison, ran a time of 1:09.35, which was the fastest time run in the event.

Dennison’s win was the only one for the men’s team on Saturday.

Up next was the open 400-meter run with Eric Fogltanz being the lone Cyclone. He ended up with a time of 46.71 seconds, fifth place, and also the sixth fastest time in school history.

From short to long distance the next event was the 1000-meter run which featured Zach Black, Delago and Dan Curts. Black ran the best time of the three at 2:23.91, placing him in fourth. Delago ended up in fifth and Curts finished in seventh.

The lone Cyclone to make it to the podium off the track was Jalen Ford. He competed in the high jump and finished tied for fifth place after eclipsing a height of 6 feet 11 inches.

Five Cyclones competed in the next event for the men on the track, the 3000-meter run. Sam Clausnitzer, Greyson Dolezal and John Nownes ran in the first heat. In the second heat Kevyn Hoyos and Andrew Jordan competed. Hoyos finished in third place with a time of 8:05.75 and earned himself a medal.

Jordan finished in 11th with a time of 8:19.39 and Clausnitzer finished in 16th with a time of 8:27.84. Dolezal ran a time of 8:29.01, finishing in 18th, and Nownes finished in 20th with a time of 8:30.12.

The final event of the Championship was the 4×400-meter relay made up of Fogltanz, Ben Kelly, Roomes and Dennison. The four compiled a time of 3:07.94, taking fourth place overall.

Coming into the final event the Texas Longhorns held a slim margin over the Kansas Jayhawks in overall points. After finishing the relay with the fastest time Texas was awarded the Big 12 trophy.

The Cyclone men ended up in fifth place in the conference meet, amassing 73.5 points.