Ashley Joens wins third-consecutive Cheryl Miller Award


Ashley Joens hugs her teammate after ISU’s Big 12 Championship win over Texas, 61-51. Municipal Auditorium in Kansas City, MO, Mar. 12, 2023.

Payne Blazevich, Sports Reporter

Iowa State star Ashley Joens added another accolade to her collection Saturday, securing the Cheryl Miller Award for a third-consecutive season. 

The award is given to the nation’s top small forward, a title that Joens has consistently held during her time at Iowa State after earning the award following the 2020-21 and 2021-22 seasons. 

A year where Joens averaged 21.6 points and 9.7 rebounds erased any doubt that the All-American would repeat for a third time. 

Joens has rewritten the record books during her time at Iowa State. The small forward leads the Cyclones with 3,060 career points and 1,391 rebounds. She also played and started the most games in program history, checking in for Iowa State 158 times. 

After a stellar four senior seasons, Joens opted to return to Iowa State for her extra year of eligibility. Her final season in Ames marked another historic year for Joens, as she averaged over 21 points while leading the Big 12 in scoring, eventually securing Big 12 Player of the Year honors.

Joens took a little time to rediscover her rhythm, but she finished the season as strong as ever. She scored at least 20 points in the team’s final 10 contests and put up double figures in 31 of 32 games this season. 

Her last season with the Cyclones peaked in Kansas City, Missouri, where she led Iowa State to its first Big 12 Championship since 2001. During the postseason tournament, Joens averaged 26.7 points and 11 rebounds in a campaign that earned her a unanimous selection for the Most Outstanding Player en route to the conference title. 

With the award, Iowa State is home to four of the last six recipients. Three belong to Joens while Bridget Carleton earned the title following the 2018-19 season.

Joens is projected to be a first-round pick in the upcoming WNBA draft April 10.