Iowa State Repeats at Hawkeye Invitational

Maggie Davis

The Iowa State men’s cross country team has a goal of consistency this year, and it seems they’re certainly starting off that way. 

The Cyclones won the meet last year, and raced to a repeat team victory at the Hawkeye Early Bird Invitational Friday evening at Ashton Cross Country Course in Iowa City, IA. 

In head-to-head results, the Cyclones were 6-0, sweeping the field as a team. Drake, Northern Iowa, Illinois State, Iowa Central Community College, Iowa and Creighton made up the rest of the field. 

The Cyclones had six runners place in the top ten, and all eight finishers placed in the top 25.

Redshirt sophomore Festus Lagat finished first for Iowa State and first overall in the men’s race, running 17:49.2 for the 6 kilometer distance. Next up was senior Nathan Rodriguez in 17:50.6 and sophomore Andrew Jordan in 17:50.9, placing third and fourth overall.

Thomas Pollard, Stanley Langat, and John Nownes rounded out the top ten in sixth, seventh and ninth for Iowa State. 

Next up for the men’s squad is the Roy Griak Invitational in Minneapolis, MN, Saturday, September 23. 

Men’s Team Results: 

def. Drake, 15-48 

def. Illinois State, 15-50 

def. Iowa, 15-48 

def. Iowa Central CC, 21-38 

def. Northern Iowa, 15-49 

def. Creighton, 15-50 

Men’s Top Ten Individual Results: 

Athlete Yr. # Team Score Time 3k
1 Festus Lagat SO 151 Iowa State 17:49.2  
2 Karim Achengli SO 111 Iowa Central CC 17:50.1 9:09.3 (4)
3 Nathan Rodriguez JR 155 Iowa State 17:50.6 9:08.6 (1)
4 Andrew Jordan SO 150 Iowa State 17:50.9 9:09.1 (3)
5 Jhordan Ccope FR 118 Iowa Central CC 17:51.4 9:09.1 (2)
6 Thomas Pollard SO 154 Iowa State 17:53.2 9:09.4 (5)
7 Stanley Langat SO 152 Iowa State 17:55.5 9:09.9 (10)
8 Ezekiel Kipchirchir FR 124 Iowa Central CC 17:56.2 9:10.1 (12)
9 John Nownes JR 153 Iowa State 18:02.5 9:09.7 (9)
10 Ian Eklin JR 88 Iowa 18:10.7 9:09.7 (8)