Women’s golf looks to fill big shoes in 2014-15 season


Photo: William Deaton/Iowa State

Chayanun, who owns the ISU women’s golf program records in season stroke average, career stroke average, 54-hole score and 18-hole score, was named the 2014-2015 Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year

Mike Randleman

After a 2013-14 season that resulted in a top-25 ranking and its first ever appearance at the NCAA Finals, the ISU women’s golf team will look to reload in 2014-15.

Iowa State finished the regular season ranked 25th in the Golfweek rankings after two runner-up finishes along with tying for fourth at the Big 12 Championship.

In its fifth-straight appearance at NCAA Regionals, the Cyclones broke through for the first time in making it to nationals, tying for sixth out of 24 teams at the West NCAA Regional to advance.

Junior Chonlada Chayanun and senior Sasikarn On-iam were named to the All-Big 12 team for their efforts in the regular season and in the Big 12 Championship.

In the 2014-15 season, the Cyclones return three of five starters. Carmen Vidau, Cajsa Persson and Chayanun all competed in every tournament in 2013-14, but Iowa State faces the challenge of replacing two of the most decorated golfers in program history.

The Bangkok, Thailand, duo of Sasikarn On-iam and Prima Thammaraks graduated with their names littered throughout the ISU record books.

They combined for four top-10 finishes last season and were full-time starters in their four years as Cyclones.

Looking forward to this season, Chayanun and Persson will be expected to carry the load for Iowa State. Both finished as two of the Cyclones three-lowest scorers last season and combined for five top-10 finishes.

Vidau also returns with plenty of experience having competed in every tournament in the 2013-14 season.

Sophomore Pimrawee Huang only competed in two events last season, but will look to have a larger role this fall.

With just four players returning from the 2013-2014 roster, Iowa State will look once more for a freshman to step into the starting lineup.