ISU men’s golf in eighth place after one round at NCAA Regionals

Mike Randleman

With one round in the books, the ISU men’s golf team sits near the middle of the pack at eighth place in the Columbia NCAA Regional tournament at The Club at Old Hawthorne in Columbia, Mo.

Needing to finish in the top five out of 14 teams to advance to nationals, No. 50 Iowa State is 21 shots behind leader No. 2 Oklahoma State. However, the Cyclones are only four shots behind No. 14 LSU, which resides in the coveted fifth spot.

Leading Iowa State to a five-over-par team total of 293 was junior Scott Fernandez and freshman Ruben Sondjaja. Both posted even-par rounds of 72, they got there in different ways.

Fernandez had a promising start to his round, finishing his front nine holes at four-under-par. Fernandez also had an eagle on the back nine, but two bogeys and two double-bogeys soured what had the makings of a great round.

Unlike Fernandez, Sondjaja made his run at the end of his round. After two bogeys in his first six holes, Sondjaja played his final 12 holes without a bogey and got back to even-par by round’s end.

Both are tied for 12th place out of 75 golfers, seven shots behind Oklahoma State’s Jordan Niebrugge.

Junior Sam Daley posted the third-lowest round for Iowa State with a two-over-par 74 that featured fifteen pars versus one double-bogey, one bogey and one birdie.

With a 75, redshirt sophomore Collin Foster posted the fourth and final qualifying score in the first round for the Cyclones. He made the turn at even-par, but a triple bogey on his 11th hole kept him from tying Fernandez and Sondjaja.

Foster is tied for 40th place.

Rounding out the starting lineup was freshman Jack Carter; he is filling in for the injured Nick Voke, Iowa State’s second-lowest scorer.

Carter is tied for 71st place after posting an 81.

For the second round May 16, Iowa State will tee off with No. 33 Iowa — tied for sixth place at three-over-par — and No. 38 San Diego State — ninth place at six-over-par — beginning at 8:50 a.m.

The third and final round will take place May 17.