Kane gets Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, All-Big 12 First Team, Niang third team


Senior DeAndre Kane is all smiles after Iowa State defeated West Virginia on Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014. The No. 15 Cyclones defeated the Mountaineers 83-66. The first time ISU and WVU met in the season, West Virginia won 102-77.

Dean Berhow-Goll

Iowa State took home a number of awards March 9 from the Big 12, which were announced via Twitter.

DeAndre Kane was named Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, was named All-Big 12 First Team and was named named to the Big 12 All-Newcomer team while Georges Niang was named Third Team All-Big 12.

You can read about Melvin Ejim being named the Big 12 Player of the Year and First Team All-Big 12 here.

Kane becomes the third-straight player at Iowa State to receive the award, with Will Clyburn winning it last year and Royce White the year before.

Kane filled up the box score night after night while he averaged 17.1 points per game, 6.7 rebounds with 5.9 assists this season. He is currently No. 6 in points in the Big 12, No. 11 in rebounds and was No. 2 in assists — behind West Virginia’s Juwan Staten by .4 per game. 

Last year Clyburn received the award, averaging 14.9 points per game, with 6.8 rebounds and 2.1 assists added to that. The year before that Royce White averaged 13.4 points per game, 9.3 rebounds and 5.0 assists per game. 

Niang played the role of closer is some games and averaged 16.2 points, 4.3 rebounds and 3.6 assists during the regular season. 

Iowa State will head to the Big 12 tournament March 13 to play Kansas State at 11:30 a.m. at the Sprint Center in Kansas City.