New college football playoff receives name


Coach Paul Rhoads leads his players running through the tunnel before the kickoff on Saturday, Nov. 3, 2012 at Jack Trice Stadium.

Jake Calhoun

The new four-team playoff taking place of the BCS that will decide the national champion received a new name on Tuesday: College Football Playoff.

The name was decided by the commissioners of the major colleges of the FBS on Tuesday in the first of a three-day slate of meetings in Pasadena, Calif.

The simplistic name was not a concern during the selection process.

“I don’t think you can ever go too wrong calling something what it is,” said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott to the Associated Press. “Things that make sense tend to stand the test of time.”

The College Football Playoff will replace the Bowl Championship Series (BCS), which caused a flood of controversy in numerous ways in its decade of existence.

The locations for the new College Football Playoff sit between three former BCS bowls: Rose, Orange and Sugar.

The Fiesta Bowl, which was the only former BCS bowl thrown out of the mix, is vying to join along with the Chick-fil-A Bowl and the Cotton Bowl.

Cowboy Stadium, Dallas Cowboys’ owner Jerry Jones’ $1 billion behemoth in Arlington, Texas, is the favorite to host the first-ever national title game.

“I’m glad it has,” said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby of Cowboys Stadium of becoming the favorite. “I think it will give us a better outcome.”

The site of the national championship game has yet to be determined, though.