Saina helps women to a third place finish; men finish eighth


Iowa State’s Danielle Frere, a redshirt senior thrower, winds up to throw during the 2013 Big 12 Championships on Sunday, Feb. 24, at Lied Recreation Athletic Center. Frere ended in sixth place in the shot put.

Isaac Hunt

Led by three titles from Betsy Saina the ISU women’s track and field team placed third at the Big 12 Championships this season.

Saina won the mile run, the 3000-meter run, and the 5000-meter run on her way to breaking into Iowa State history as the first athlete to win three individual conference titles.

Ese Okoro and Krista Shoeman placed first and second, respectively, in the women’s 600.

Ejiro Okoro finished in second place in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:06.59, which was good enough for second all time in the ISU records.

Christina Hillman is now the holder of a school record in shot put with a throw of 57-09.5. That throw landed her a second place honor in the Big 12s.

Kansas won the women’s side of the Big 12 Championships with a team score of 150.5, following was Texas with 148, and Iowa State was third with 142.

The men placed eighth in team points with 61, while the winner, Texas, finished with 135.

Nick Efkamp who finished first in the 400-meter dash and fifth in the 200-meter dash led the men’s side.

Ryan Sander, third in Big 12s, and Troy Walls, eighth, both set personal records in the 60-meter hurdles with times of 7.83 and 8.17, respectively.

Olympic sprinter Ian Warner placed second in the 60-meter dash with a personal record of 6.68.

The next event for the Cyclones will be held this Saturday at the Lied Recreation Center. Both the men and women will be competing in the NCAA qualifier meet.