Cyclones take fifth at Big 12 Championship


Freshman Lucia Rizzo starts the 200-yard butterfly against Illinois State University on Jan. 18 at Beyer Pool. The Iowa State women’s swimming and diving team won 191-100.  

Nick Flores

After ending day three of the Big 12 Championship, the Iowa State Cyclones (7-4, 2-1 Big 12) were placed fifth heading into Saturday’s events. The Cyclones finished the competition remaining in fifth after an eventful final day in Austin, Texas.

Senior Evan Hundley and Freshman Emily Haan both qualified for the 200-back consolation finals tonight after Hundley recorded a time of 2:00.47 and Haan recorded a time of 2:00.83. Hundley and Haan finished 10th and 11th in what was a tight race in the consolation final. 

In the 100-free Junior Anna Andersen qualified for the championship final as freshman Elynn Tan and juniors Keely Soellner and Emma Ruehle all qualified for the consolation finals. Andersen recorded the fifth-fastest time by a Cyclone ever in the 100-free final as she finished with a time of 49.87, earning her third place in the event. 

Tan took 12th place overall and fourth in the consolation final posting the fastest time ever for the 100-free by a Cyclone freshman with 50.91. Ruehle placed 16th overall with a time of 51.39 and Soellner took 15th, posting a time of 51.35.

Sophomores Martha Haas and Lehr Thorson led the way for the Cyclones in the 200-breast as both qualified for the Championship final. Sophomore Bryn Ericksen just missed out on the championship final as she posted a time of 2:22.63 which qualified her for the consolation final. 

All three swimmers recorded a new personal record as Thorson came in at fourth with 2:15.80, Haas took sixth with 2:17.63 and Ericksen posted a time of 2:20.10 earning her the win in the consolation final. 

Freshman Lucia Rizzo and sophomore Grace Snyder both made their way into the 200-fly consolation finals tonight as Rizzo posted a time of 2:04.01 and Snyder finished with a time of 2:12.02. Rizzo went on to take first in the consolation final with a time of 2:02.34 while Snyder took fifth with a time of 2:09.79.

In the Platform Diving event tonight, junior Dana Liva qualified for the championship final after placing fourth in the event with a score of 231.90. Senior Sydney Ronald ended her preliminary round by qualifying for the consolation final with a score of 155.00. 

Ronald went on to finish 13th with a score of 177.95 as Liva finished sixth overall with a 211.95. 

In the 1650-free, Senior Haley Ruegemer placed fifth placed fifth and set a new PR with a time of 16:46.80. Ruegemer now holds the fourth-fastest 1650 free time in school history. 

Finally, the 400-relay team of Andersen, Ruehle, Hundley and Tan finished in third with a time of 3:21.21 setting a new school record.

The Texas Longhorns managed to win back to back Big 12 Championships with a point total of 1073.5.