David Montgomery earns AP All-Big 12 First Team, four Cyclones on Second Team


Kennedy DeRaedt/Iowa State Daily

Junior running back David Montgomery carries the ball during the game against Drake University Dec. 1 at Jack Trice Stadium. The Cyclones won 27-24.

Trevor Holbrook

After missing the cut for the All-Big 12 First Team voted on by the conference’s coaches, junior Iowa State running back David Montgomery appeared on the Associated Press Big 12 First Team.

The Cincinnati native rushed for 1,092 yards and 12 touchdowns in 11 games this season.

Along with Montgomery, four Cyclones showed up on the AP All-Big 12 Second Team. Redshirt junior wide receiver Hakeem Butler was the only other offensive player honored.

Defensively, junior lineman Ray Lima, senior cornerback Brian Peavy and sophomore safety Greg Eisworth received Second Team honors.

Overall, Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray won Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, and Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley secured nine of 20 votes for Coach of the Year to win the award for the second straight year.

Iowa State coach Matt Campbell finished second with seven votes.