Two Cyclone football players named to award watch lists

Brian Peavy intercepts the ball against No. 4 TCU. 

Trevor Holbrook

Iowa State cornerback Brian Peavy and running back David Montgomery were named to the Bednarik and Maxwell Award watch lists by the Maxwell Football Club.

The Maxwell Award has been around since 1937, and the recipient of the award is voted as the best overall player in college football by the Maxwell Football Club.

Montgomery broke out last season with 1,146 yards, averaging 88.2 yards per game to earn a spot on the Maxwell Award watch list.

Along with racking up the yards, Montgomery also found the end zone 11 times in his sophomore season.

The Cincinnati native showcased his receiving abilities last season, too. He hauled in 36 passes and 296 receiving yards.

On the other side of the ball, Brian Peavy will be gunning for the Bednarik Award. The Bednarik Award was created in 1995 for the best defensive player in college football.

Peavy will enter his senior season this fall, and the Houston native has filled the stat sheet in his 34 career starts.

The senior has tallied 232 tackles, 30 pass breakups and five interceptions in his Iowa State career.

On July 11, the Big 12 released its Preseason Team voted on by the media. Montgomery was an All-Big 12 first team selection, and Peavy was an All-Big 12 second team selection.