StuGov vice presidential candidates to debate

Julian Neely and Juan Bibiloni (left) and Benjamin Whittington and Jocelyn Simms (right) are running for president and vice president of the Student Government.

Alex Connor

With Student Government elections in full swing, the vice presidential candidates will debate on-campus issues and defend their platform.

The debate will begin at 6 p.m. in Carver 101 on Tuesday. Vice presidential candidates include Jocelyn Simms and Juan Bibiloni. 

Simms is one of the founding members of Delta Gamma at Iowa State. She also serves as the treasurer and poetry board editor of Sketch Literary Journal, as well as the secretary of Turning Point USA at Iowa State.

Bibiloni represents the Inter-Residence Hall Association as a current senator for Student Government and on the CyRide Board of Trustees. 

Debate topics will include issues such as campus climate and tuition, as well as specifics regarding their platform.

The debate will last approximately an hour, with an opportunity for the public to ask questions at the end.

The Iowa State Daily’s Danielle Gehr, head news editor, will be moderating the debate. 

For more information, visit