Iowa State fails to advance a wrestler to Big 12 Championships finals, eight alive in Consolation Bracket


Alec Giljohann/Iowa State Daily

Lelund Weatherspoon, an Iowa State RSr., loses his position against his opponent Kyle Crutchmer in the 174 pound weight division. Weatherspoon lost the match in a close contest 3-2.

Curran Mclaughlin

For the first time since 2003, Iowa State will not have a Big 12 conference champion.

Eight Cyclones managed to stay alive on the back end of the bracket in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

In session one, Earl Hall, Lelund Weatherspoon, Colston DiBlasi and Carson Powell advanced in the championship bracket.

Colston DiBlasi won his quarter-final match in an unconventional way. DiBlasi and Clark Glass of Oklahoma battled it out in lengthy scrambles, but neither man could get an advantage.

DiBlasi spent two full periods in top position racking up 4:00 minutes in riding time to secure a 1-0 victory.

In session two, Earl Hall met Oklahoma State’s Kaid Brock. The two men waged war the only way they knew how, with explosive offense.

The two men tangled in lightning fast scrambles. Hall throughout the match attempted any sort of toss that he could when Brock opened up.

In the final seconds of the match, Hall scored a takedown to tie the match at 4. With riding time a factor, Hall had to go for a tilt to try and score back points.

Brock managed to reverse Hall as time expired to insure a 7-4 victory.

Lelund Weatherspoon faced Kyle Crutchmer of Oklahoma State.

The pair squared off cautiously for to start. It wasn’t until the second period when Crutchmer would score the deciding points of the match.

Crutchmer in the down position managed to escape following up with a solid double-leg takedown. Crutchmer would finish with a 3-1 win.

Eight Iowa State wrestlers still have a chance to make the NCAA Championships. Session three for the consolation semi-Finals and third and fifth place matches will start at 8 a.m. on Sunday.