Search committee named for new VP for university services position



Alex Hanson

A nine-person search committee has been chosen to lead the search for the first senior vice president for university services at Iowa State.

The new position is a result of President Steven Leath’s decision to split the current Office of Business and Finance into two new divisions: the division of university services and the division of finance.

The search committee consists of two co-chairs and seven members:


  • Lisa Eslinger, senior vice president for business and operations for the ISU Foundation
  • David Spalding, dean of the College of Business


  • Veronica Dark, professor of psychology and past president of Faculty Senate
  • Pete Englin, director of the Department of Residence
  • Chris Jorgensen, senior associate director of athletics
  • Reginald Stewart, vice president for diversity and inclusion
  • Tera Lawson, program coordinator in the Center for Technology in Learning and Teaching and president of the Professional and Scientific Council
  • Sarah Nusser, vice president for research and professor of statistics
  • Julie Nuter, associate vice president for university human resources

The search is also on an expedited timeline, with Iowa State hoping to bring finalists in the national search to campus for visits in early May and the new vice president beginning by July 1.

The division of university services will oversee the following areas:

  • Facilities planning and management
  • Business services
  • Environmental health and safety
  • Public safety
  • Reiman Gardens
  • University Museums
  • WOI radio group

Miles Lackey, Leath’s chief of staff, will retain his current position but also assume the new role of chief financial officer, leading the division of finance.

Warren Madden, the current senior vice president for business and finance, will retire after the current school year.