Women Impacting ISU calendar celebrates 10 years

Danielle Ferguson

Women whose leadership has made a difference at Iowa State University have been honored by the Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics on the annual Women Impacting ISU calendar for the past 10 years.

The idea for the calendar began in October 2005 when Iowa State students attending the Big 12 Student Government Conference at the University of Kansas saw calendars recognizing women on that campus.

“The president of the Government of the Student Body, Angela (Groh) Fogt, saw a similar calendar at KU during a conference she attended and thought it would be great to implement something similar at Iowa State,” said Jenna (Jones) Reynolds of Phoenix, Arizona, former Catt Associate and co-coordinator of the inaugural calendar. “Naturally, everyone agreed, and it seemed like a natural fit for the Catt Associates to spearhead the project.”

The Catt Associates – a student-led group associated with the Catt Center – successfully applied for a Women’s Enrichment Fund mini-grant in 2006. The first calendar was produced in 2007.

“Jenna and I worked hard to implement the calendar and enjoyed watching the idea come to fruition,” said Marisa (Stadlman) Roseberry of West Des Moines, Iowa, former Catt Associate and co-coordinator of the 2007 Women Impacting ISU calendar. “It makes me proud to be an Iowa State University and Catt Center alum when projects like the calendar continue to thrive.”

The Catt Center sponsors the calendar with annual funding now provided by the Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost. Catt Center staff and students publicize and collect the nominations; organize the recognition reception held in January of each year; and design, order and distribute the free calendars.

Each year, a committee of students, faculty and staff – including past calendar honorees – representing a diverse cross-section of the Iowa State community evaluates the nomination packets and deliberates for four hours over the course of two meetings to select the final honorees. Although the number of nominations varies, typically 50 to 70 women are recommended for the calendar each year.

Each of the 10 calendars includes photographs of the 12 students, faculty and staff members who are chosen annually by the selection committee based on their achievements in service, teaching, research, administration and various other campus activities.

Calendars are officially unveiled during a reception recognizing the 12 honorees each January.

The reception is free and open to the public, and after the reception, copies of the calendar are distributed for free.

The 2016 calendar will celebrate the 10th anniversary of the calendar. These women have been honored on the calendar since 2007:

2007 honorees: Andrea Benzschawel, Susan Carlson, Diane Debinski, Tahira Hira, Julie Hunt, Lyndsey Medders, Pat Miller, Sulianet Ortiz, Rohini Ramnath, Penny Rice, Cilia Ruiz-Paz, Calli Sanders

2008 honorees: Swarupa Bakre, Bryony Bonning, Whitney Bynum, Cathy Compton, Rachael Cox, Brenda Daly, Sally Deters, Sally Gleason, Elaine Hieber, Kelli Huser, Megan Todd, Wendy Wintersteen

2009 honorees: Nicole Bell, Kristen Constant, Carla Espinoza, Suzanne Hendrich, Emily Jensen, Julie Larson, Maggie Luttrell, Brionni McGriff, Gail Nonnecke, Jenn Plagman-Galvin, Megan Savaia, Danielle Simmons

2010 honorees: Michelle Boettcher, Corley Brooke, Nicole Cortum, Justine Hosch, Lisa Koll, Liz Kurt, Kendra Malone, Kay Palan, Martha Selby, Jessica Tobelmann, Pamela White, Karen Zunkel

2011 honorees: Ginny Arthur, Diane Birt, Bonnie Bowen, Lora Leigh Chrystal, Rachel Goldsmith, Thelma Harding, Indria Jenkins, Annie Olson, Chandra Peterson, Kayla Pinegar, Claudia Prado-Meza, Zora Zimmerman

2012 honorees: Sharon Bird, Joy Ensley, Molly Heintz, Aja Holmes, Kathleen Jones, Ahna Kruzic, Susan Lammers, Alejandra Navarro, Kayla Nielsen, Shelley Taylor, Ann Thompson, Jingtao Wang

2013 honorees: Claire Andreasen, Denise Bjelland, Ruth Cardenas, Natasha Croom, Mary Jo Gonzales, Elizabeth Hoffman, Jane Jacobson, Sue Lamont, Szuyin Leow, Barbara Mack, Deb Vance, Stephanie Zywicki

2014 honorees: Afifah Abdul Rahim, Gloria Cain, Alicia Carriquiry, Alexandra Gustafson, Beth Hartmann, Gloria Jones-Johnson, Amy Kaleita, Anna Prisacari, Merry Rankin, Stephanie Salasek, Erika Vaassen, Theresa Windus

2015 honorees: Jane Agyeman, Jean Anderson, Julia Anderson-Lee, Carolyn Cutrona, Andrea Dvorak, Maura Flaschner, Carol Heaverlo, Presha Kardile, Dorothy Masinde, Nicci Port, Ana Prokos, Diane Rover

2016 honorees: Kaitlyn Aldrich, Amy Andreotti, Raquel Botello, Veronica Dark, Christina Hillman, Glenna Lovig, Som Mongtin, Anne Oldham, Dana Schumacher, Barbara Steiner, Pat Thiel, Lissandra Villa.

As part of the celebration of the Women Impacting ISU calendar 10th anniversary, the previous nine calendars will be on display in the South Ballroom of the Memorial Union during the Jan.

13 reception from 3:30-5 p.m.