Governor recognizes ROTC students


Courtesy of Lt. Col. Richard Smith

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds recognized Iowa ROTC cadets at the annual Governor’s ROTC Award ceremony on Tuesday at the Iowa State Capitol. Ten cadets received awards. 

Kelly Mcgowan

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds attended the annual Governor’s ROTC Award ceremony Tuesday at the Iowa State Capitol. Ten awards were presented to cadets and a midshipman from ROTC programs in Iowa for academic, military and character excellence.

“These are great young men across the board,” said Lt. Col. Richard Smith, professor and chair of the military science and tactics department. “Every one of these kids that the governor recognized is just outstanding.”

Smith presented Army ROTC awards to Cyclone Battalion cadets Tanner Hildebrand, senior in computer engineering; Matthew Hanson of Buena Vista University and Jesse Parker of Drake University.

Lt. Col. Ryan Hollman, professor and chair of the Air Force Aerospace Studies department presented an award to Air Force ROTC cadet Connor McGuire.

Cmdr. Daniel Buhr, executive officer of Naval ROTC, presented an award to Naval ROTC midshipman Matthew Sindelar, senior in mechanical engineering.

Awardees received a plaque, coin and the Gen. George Washington Campaign Cup. Replicas of this traditional cup have been used since the Revolutionary War to acknowledge leadership and service.

Smith said this recognition goes hand in hand with the Home Base Iowa Act and Iowa’s commitment to service men and women.

“They are showing these people that Iowa really does appreciate what you do,” Smith said.