School Board election takes place Tuesday


Katy Klopfenstein/Iowa State Daily

Tom Keinert, Ames resident, turns in his ballet for the Ames School Board elections at the Ames Public Library. The library was a voting place in Tuesday’s election. 

Michaela Ramm

The public will select its representatives for the Ames Community School Board in an election that will take place Tuesday.

Five candidates have filed an affidavit to fill the four open seats of the seven member board. All seven seats are at-large positions and serve on four year terms.

Current Board President Lucas Deardorff, who was elected in 2011, is seeking re-election. Deardorff is the vice president and commercial lender at First National Bank in Ames.

According to the Ames Tribune, Deardorff, who participated in the Aug. 13 candidate forum at Ames City Hall, said two major goals he plans to take on would include building a new high school and pool facility.

Director Rodney Briggs is also running for re-election, and works for the jail division in the Story County Sheriff’s Office.

Current board members Jane Acker and Teresa Simpson have decided to not run for re-election.

New candidates running for the school board include Nathan Buss, Alisa Frandsen and Lewis Rosser. 

According to the Tribune, former social studies teacher Rosser said the district needs to have a cooperative relationship with the City of Ames. 

At the candidate forum, Frandsen, who is an Ames Park and Recreation commissioner, pushed for the need for communication between the Ames and the Gilbert Community school boards.

The Tribune stated that at the forum, Buss discussed the need for communication between the community in regards to the vacant buildings in the city that could be turned into useful spaces.

The election is to take place on Tuesday. Polls will open at 7 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m.

For a list of all voting centers in Ames, visit here.

For more information, visit the Story County School Elections website here.