Mike Huckabee launches second presidential bid


Charlie Coffey/Iowa State Daily

Bruce Rastetter conducts at question and answer session with former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee about agricultural issues facing the world today. The session was a part of the 2015 Ag Summit that took place in Des Moines on March 7.

Alex Hanson

Former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee has officially announced he is running for president again.

Huckabee, who won the Iowa Caucuses in 2008 but was unsuccessful in clinching the Republican nomination later in the year, told supporters in his hometown of Hope, Ark., that it is “fitting” to announce his bid in the small town.

“From Hope to Higher Ground” will be the campaign slogan Huckabee brings around the country as he campaigns. During his announcement, Huckabee cast himself as an average American who grew up in a small town and was able to become successful. 

“It seems perfectly fitting that it would be here that I announce that I am a candidate for president of the United States of America,” Huckabee said.

Huckabee served as Arkansas’ governor from 1996 until 2007. He launched his presidential campaign early in 2007 and was able to come in second at the 2007 Ames straw poll before eventually winning the Iowa Caucus by almost 10 percent.

Huckabee would go onto win eight states before dropping out in March of 2008.

He joined FOX News and hosted an hour-long weekend show titled “Huckabee” until late 2014, when he announced he would leave the network to consider another presidential bid.

Huckabee has traveled to several early primary states, including Iowa, where he spoke at Steve King’s Iowa Freedom Summit in January and Bruce Rastetter’s Iowa Agriculture Summit in March.

Huckabee is set to return to Iowa quickly, with events planned tomorrow in Oskaloosa and Urbandale and Thursday events in Sioux City and Cedar Rapids.

Huckabee joins a growing list of Republican candidates seeking the White House. Dr. Ben Carson and former HP CEO Carly Fiorina joined the race yesterday, while U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz, Rand Paul and Marco Rubio have joined the race within the past several weeks.