Nine Republicans confirmed for annual GOP Lincoln Dinner

Alex Hanson

Nine potential Republican candidates for president will return to Des Moines on May 16 for the Iowa GOP’s “Lincoln Dinner,” the Republican Party of Iowa announced Thursday morning.

The annual event is scheduled for May 16, with doors opening at 4:30 p.m. This year’s event will take place at the Iowa Events Center, 833 5th Ave. in Des Moines.

The Iowa GOP has announced nine potential Republicans who may run for president have confirmed they will attend the event:

  • Former Florida Governor Jeb Bush
  • Dr. Ben Carson
  • Former HP CEO Carly Fiorina
  • South Carolina Senator Lindsey Graham
  • Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal
  • Former Texas Governor Rick Perry
  • Former Pennsylvania Senator Rick Santorum
  • Businessman Donald Trump
  • Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker

“There’s always the chance for a candidate to have a defining moment at an event like this in Iowa,” said Iowa GOP chairman Jeff Kaufmann in a news release announcing the lineup. “This dinner is an opportunity for our distinguished guests to set themselves apart and announce to Iowa and the country why they should be the next president of the United States.”

The Iowa GOP said they have also invited several other potential candidates to the event, including New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie, former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee, Kentucky Sen. Rand Paul and Florida Sen. Marco Rubio.

Texas Sen. Ted Cruz, the only high-profile Republican to announce his candidacy, has also been invited.