Individuals honored at Gender Equity Awards

The recipients of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Student Services awards and scholarships pose for a picture at the end of the Gender and Sexuality Equity Awards ceremony at Hach Hall on Tuesday, March 31.

Danielle Ferguson

Individuals who are committed to helping women gain equity at Iowa State University will be honored today at the Margaret Sloss Gender Equity Awards.

The awards ceremony is at 2 p.m. Tuesday in the Hach Atirum in Hach Hall, with keynote speaker Calli Sanders, senior associate athletic director for sports administration.

Sanders teaches a class at Iowa State called “Gender Issues in Sports.”

Sanders also served on the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee. She directed multiple NCAA tournament rounds and assisted with operations at the 2000 and 2001 Women’s Basketball Final Fours, according to the Margaret Sloss Women’s Center.

Sanders is also on the editorial board of Athletic Management magazine and has been a peer reviewer for the NCAA certification program.

Last year’s winners were: 

Valerie Hennings- Scholar-in-Residence, Carrie Chapman Catt Center for Women and Politics, and Megan Komos, senior in industrial engineering.