Meet Iowa State’s 2007 Hall of Famers

Tommy Birch

The ISU Letterwinners Club and ISU Hall of Fame Committee announced today its Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2007. Nine former Cyclone greats, including two-time consensus All-American running back Troy Davis and Olympic gold medalist wrestler Kevin Jackson, will be inducted into the ISU Hall of Fame on Friday in a special ceremony at Gateway Hotel and Conference Center, 2100 Green Hill Drive. The inductees will be honored at halftime of the Iowa State-Northern Iowa football game on Saturday.

The ISU Hall of Fame was established in 1997 and 103 Cyclone legends have been enshrined since then. For more information, contact Diane Shearer or Ryan McGuire in the ISU Development Office at 294-5022.

Iowa State Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2007

Jenni Adams Keitges

Women’s swimming

  • Four-time Big Eight champion
  • All-American in 100 breaststroke
  • Three-time Academic All-Big Eight
  • ISU Female Athlete of the Year (1991)

Kevin Jackson


  • NCAA runner-up at 167 pounds (1987)
  • Two-time world champion (1991, 1995)
  • Olympic gold medalist (1992)
  • USA Wrestling Freestyle Wrestler of the Year (1995)

Troy Davis


  • Two-time first team All-American (1995, 1996)
  • Two-time Heisman Trophy finalist (1995, 1996)
  • Only player in NCAA history to record two 2,000-yard rushing seasons
  • His two-year total of 4,195 yards is best in NCAA history

Ike Harris


  • Played on two ISU bowl teams (1971, 1972)
  • Totaled 76 receptions and 1,226 yards receiving
  • Played seven years in the NFL
  • Cy’s Favorite Alum (1991)

Luther Blue


  • First team All-Big Eight (1976)
  • All-American wide receiver (1976)
  • ISU’s season and career record holder in kickoff return average
  • Played four years in the NFL (1977-80)

Merv Krakau


  • First team All-Big Eight (1972)
  • Third team All-American (1972)
  • Played six years in the NFL (1973-78)
  • Played on two ISU bowl teams (1971, 1972)

Mike Land


  • NCAA champion at 126 pounds (1978)
  • Four-time All-American (1975, 1977, 1978, 1979)
  • Won 84 consecutive matches
  • Second-most wins in school history (150)

Jason Smith


  • Two-time NCAA champion at 167 pounds (1969, 1970)
  • Three-time All-American (1968, 1969, 1970)
  • Won two NCAA team titles (1969, 1970)
  • Midlands champion (1967)

George Veenker

Football coach/administrator

  • Directed two winning seasons as football coach
  • Tutored eight players who earned first team All-Conference
  • Basketball team won four league titles while athletic director
  • Spearheaded the campaign to build an on-campus golf course

– Information courtesy of ISU athletic department