ISU wrestling wins back-and-forth meet against Wyoming


Lelund Weatherspoon, redshirt junior, prepares to tackle an opponent from the University of Iowa at the Cy-Hawk series matchon Nov. 29. Iowa State fell 33-6.

Ben Visser

The beginning of the Iowa State and Wyoming wrestling meet on Saturday afternoon was back and forth until the No. 19 Cyclones closed the door on the Cowboys to win, 19-14.

Kyle Larson, at 125-pounds, lost by major decision to Drew Templemon 9-1 in the first bout.

Earl Hall for Iowa State returned the favor at 133-pounds. He won 14-4 by major decision over Wyoming’s P.T. Garcia.

Iowa State’s John Meeks and Dante Rodriguez have been going back and forth all season, battling to start at 141-pounds. Meeks got the call this afternoon and lost 3-2 to No. 15 Bryce Meredith.

Gabe Moreno for the Cyclones, once again, returned the favor to Wyoming beating Jake Elliot 6-2.

No. 14 Tanner Weatherman won in overtime at 165-pounds, 18-16, after an eventful third period after Logan Breitenbach lost by major decision at 157-pounds.

In the marquee matchup, No. 17 Lelund Weatherspoon beat No. 13 Ben Stroh, 11-5. The Cyclones took the lead 13-11 after Weatherspoon’s victory.

Dane Pestano won a dogfight, 3-1, for Iowa State over Jace Jensen. Jensen had several opportunities to pull off some points, but Pestano’s defense proved to be too good.

Duke Egli sealed the victory for the Cyclones at 184-pounds with a 4-2 win over Brandon Tribble.

Heavyweight Quean Smith lost in overtime, 3-1, however, the Cyclones still pulled out the victory.